A Reflection on 2019

So it seems that 2019 is essentially over.  As usual, it is bittersweet to recall everything that happened in my world this year and to think of how I will continue to learn and grow in the coming year of 2020.

I went into 2019 fiercely optimistic. I felt that 2019 was MY year. I was going to absolutely own everything I attempted. Gone was the shyness and high anxiety of my early teen years.  This is who I am! I thought.  Finally, my identity seems solidified. I am a Christian, I am a daughter and a sister and a friend.  I’m a sinner struggling to love God in a world that insists I love anything but.

     In 2019, I was going to graduate high school and start college, and I was confident that with a few prayers, I would rise to any complication or challenge.  I was also very happy. I strode into my fast-food job in January (at that point I had had the same job for a year and a half) and I greeted customers enthusiastically and received many smiles in return.  I was on a wave of euphoria; life was difficult but I was tough.  The one thing that marred my sense of invincibility was the painful loneliness that caught me in quiet moments.  “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” became my anthem and I lived.  My final semester of high school passed almost without my noticing.

In August 2019, I moved out of my mom and stepdad’s house and onto a college campus.  I cringed when I emptied my savings account to pay for the cost of such a living situation.  Suddenly I’m living on my own and buying my own toilet paper,  but I thank God and my parents that I had been well prepared for this inevitable moment.  I got a job in an office on campus and I maintained a 4.0 GPA.  For the first couple of months of the semester, I struggled with very deep loneliness and feeling out of place.  I wept frequently from the sheer misery, for misery it was.  I have always been an introvert, but Joseph Roux said it best when he declared that “solitude vivifies; isolation kills.”  Yet I eventually found comfort and support from old friends and new, and from some people who I never expected to care.

In 2019, I met a lot of people from differing backgrounds.  I didn’t become close to anyone at my college, but I admired sincerely my roommate, professors, and peers.  There were a few key individuals who had the greatest impact on my social life.  I had the pleasure of growing close again to a very old friend, while at the same time watching close friends drift away to places I could not comprehend.  I met a new friend who has become surprisingly dear to me and a real comfort.  I had one professor whom I absolutely admired and she likewise empathized with the views I put in my essays and encouraged me in my creativity.  I do not feel now that I have no one to turn to, as I did at the beginning of the year.

In 2019 I became a legal adult.  I started drinking energy drinks.  I started DMing my own D&D campaign.  I decided to make a more concerted effort to be compassionate to every single human being I met, because I am sick of my own judgemental thoughts.

To everyone who offered me money, a place to stay on weekends, friendship, and even (or perhaps especially) a kind word or comforting pat on the back, thank you.  From the bottom of my heart.  It may be cliched, but I am so genuinely grateful for the little things.

My resolution for 2020 is a modest one, but able to be accomplished I think.  I intend to write every day.  Starting with 5 minutes a day in January, 10 in February, 15 in March, and so on until I have December when I habitually write for an hour every day.  Although I dabble in other sorts of art casually, I have no greater creative outlet than writing.

Happy New Year, one and all.  May 2020 be filled with peace, hope, and safety for you all.  God bless.

Leave a comment