Laundry Thoughts #1

There is no real control in this world. Money, political power, and influence may give us humans the illusion of control, but it does not actually exist.  The only true mastery we can hope to achieve in our mortal lives is dominance over ourselves and over the weakness and impulses of the flesh, and the dark desires of our sinful hearts.  And precious few of us achieve even this.

We are hopeless indeed when we allow ourselves to be overcome with worry about that which we cannot change.  We may, of course, grieve our losses, and we may fight for the beliefs, people, and principles that stitch our world together.  It is natural and right.  But we must attend to our true intentions.  If we are humbly and earnestly seeking the will of the Lord, we cannot go astray.  It is only when we lose our focus, forget what is really important, and succumb to the illusion that we have control over anything outside of our own being that we lose any measure of peace we may have had.

True rest and peace is found only in God, in the realization and acceptance that only He is in control.  Some situations are frightfully difficult, and always the future appears clouded and uncertain, but true and absolute faith in God will carry a soul through the greatest dangers and uncertainties.

Because our God is the Light Which will never go out, the Friend Who will never leave your side, the Father who will never cease to open His arms to the prodigal, the Shepherd Who will never move His careful gaze away from His sheep, and He is the Bread of Life with which starvation is impossible.  Glory to Jesus Christ!

 

BwemiozIMAAASBe

Trust in God with all your heart, and do not exalt your own wisdom.   –Proverbs 3:5

The Lord is my helper and my champion; in Him my heart hoped, and I was helped, and my flesh revived, and I will give thanks to Him willingly.   –Psalm 28:7

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.  –Romans 8:28

Therefore do not worry, saying ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek.  For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.  But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.   –Matthew 6:31-34

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I do tend to have some profound thoughts when doing mundane things, like washing a load of laundry.  This is different and much more religious in tone than what I usually post, but I’ve never posted for the views anyway.  I hope to do more stuff like this whenever the inspiration strikes.  This came to me while I was doing laundry, but the ideas and the truth behind them are obviously not original to me.  I am sure there have been saints who put this much more eloquently.  But I decided to share it nonetheless.  Keep your heads up, my friends!  Lord have mercy! 

I leave you with this song, which never fails to make me emotional, and seems rather apropos these days:

Leave a comment